• The Dean is an autonomous academic authority leading the Faculty, and making decisions on its behalf if the Higher Education Act does not state otherwise. The Dean is also the chairman of the Research Board.

  • The Dean's term of office begins on the day in which the Dean is appointed by the rector of Charles University, and lasts for four years. The same person can hold the position no longer than two immediately following terms. The process of appointing a new dean, or the dean's dismissal is provided for by the Academic Senate law.

  • Vice-deans act on the Dean's behalf within the scope specified by the Dean. They are also appointed and dismissed by the Dean, with the Academic Senate presenting its views on any proposed appointments or dismissals. There are currently seven Vice-Deans, four posts of which are usually permanent.

The acting Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Charles University is Ing. arch. Mgr. Marie PĚTOVÁ, Ph.D.

Address: Charles University, Faculty of Humanities, Pátkova 2137/5, 182 00 Praha 8 - Libeň, Czech Republic


Office No.:


The second dean of the Faculty, in office from 2007 to 2015, was doc. PhDr. Ladislav BENYOVSZKÝ, CSc.; now a member of the Dean's Board.


The first dean of the Faculty, from 2000 to 2007, was prof. PhDr. Jan SOKOL, CSc., Ph.D.

Further Information

Please see the Dean's Office.

Last change: August 24, 2021 11:32 
Share on: Facebook Share on: Twitter
Share on:  
Your feedback

Charles University

Faculty of Humanities

Pátkova 2137/5

182 00 Praha 8 - Libeň

Czech Republic

Other contacts

Getting to us